Review: Wickingham Way (Book #3: A Harbour Falls Mystery Series) by S.R. Grey

Title: Wickingham Way Series: Book #3: A Harbour Falls Mystery Series Author: S.R. Grey Format: Paperback, 236 pages Published: 2014 by S.R. Grey ISBN: 0615912427
Title: Wickingham Way
Series: Book #3: A Harbour Falls Mystery Series
Author: S.R. Grey
Format: Paperback, 236 pages
Published: 2014 by S.R. Grey
ISBN: 0615912427

Purple Goodreads


When Maddy Fitch discovers there’s a hit out on the love of her life–the handsome, but often secretive Adam Ward–she concludes life with such a powerful man may never be normal.

But who wants normal? Not Maddy–mystery writer and sometimes-sleuth.

The heart-stopping action begins immediately in Wickingham Way when an attempt is made on Adam’s life, prompting the couple to seek refuge at a “safe house.”

Tucked away in a cabin deep in the heart of Maine, Maddy and Adam fall deeper in love. But their happiness is cut short when someone they care for deeply is kidnapped, by the same organization that wants Adam Ward dead.

Adam and Maddy return to Harbour Falls, and a dangerous cat-and-mouse game ensues. Twists and turns abound, keeping Maddy and Adam on their toes. But will the consequences of the decisions they make prove deadly?

Only time will tell.

 Source: Purchase

My Rating: 4/5 stars

My Review:

**Contains SPOILERS for books one and two!!**

Wickingham Way opens with Adam and Maddy totally back together and in synch but with Adam having a lot of explaining to do!  At the end of Willow Point, Maddy discovers (thanks to her damn curiosity!) that her next door neighbor is not only hot but also an assassin and member of a criminal organization.  Turns out her genius with computers boyfriend is a part of a covert operation to bring the organization down and thanks to his success has placed himself and those he cares for in danger. 

For the first time ever, Maddy agrees to abide by Adam’s rules and takes a real interest in her own safety.  For the first time ever, Adam agrees to fully disclose the nature of his work to Maddy in order to keep history from repeating itself.  Adam is well-aware of Maddy’s high level of curiosity and if he is to protect the woman he loves (oh yes, we get the L word in this read!) he is going to have to be open and honest with her.  Adam is very good at his job and with the help of his government contact, the stunningly gorgeous Agent Erin Lenehan, Adam has been able to cripple the organization and put its highest level members on the run.  The lower level members are being caught left and right and totally willing to turn state’s evidence.  For Adam, this means his life and the lives of those closest to him will be threatened until the head of the organization is caught or killed. 

For weeks, Adam and Maddy are kept in seclusion and while this is totally good for their emotional and sexual life, it is not so good for keeping abreast of the manhunt.  Though they are meant to be in seclusion until the price on Adam’s head is gone, circumstances take a traumatic turn and force Adam and Maddy to return to Harbour Falls.  While Maddy sees danger at every turn, Adam is quietly yet diligently cautious.  The two stick together and have a constant security detail but criminals are often highly motivated and in one explosive moment everything the two hold dear, including each other is threatened. 

The Bottom Line: In all, the Harbour Falls trilogy is well worth your time.  Over the course of the series, I developed a huge crush on Adam and spent a great deal of time pissed off and, quite frankly, astounded by Maddy and her antics.  In this way, the two really are perfectly paired and make for solid main characters – characters you can genuinely attach yourself to and commit to for three full-length novels.  Most of the secondary characters in all three books are, at the very least, interesting and play good supporting roles in both the stories and the lives of Maddy and Adam.  Each book has its own specific plot line with that plot line being fully resolved by the end of the read but also somehow tying into the larger, trilogy plot line.  By the end of Wickingham Way, every aspect of the shorter and longer plot lines is resolved making the trilogy absolutely complete and satisfying.

 Amazon       Barnes & Noble

About the author and where to find her:

S.R. Grey is an Amazon and Barnes & Noble Top 100 bestselling author. Harbour Falls, Willow Point, and Wickingham Way are novels in the completed Harbour Falls Mystery trilogy. She is also the author of New Adult novels I Stand Before You (Judge Me Not #1) and Never Doubt Me (Judge Me Not #2). Ms. Grey’s novels have appeared on Amazon and Barnes & Noble bestseller lists in multiple categories. New novels slated for publication in 2014 are Inevitable Detour, a New Adult novel with a Romantic Suspense edge, as well as Just Let Me Love You (Judge Me Not #3). Ms. Grey resides in western Pennsylvania. She has a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration degree, as well as an MBA. Her background may be in business, but her true passion lies in writing. When not writing, Ms. Grey can be found reading, traveling, running, or cheering for her hometown sports teams.

Facebook     Twitter     Goodreads     Website

Newsletter     Pinterest

2 Comments on “Review: Wickingham Way (Book #3: A Harbour Falls Mystery Series) by S.R. Grey

Want to weigh in?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: